Rockets Win League in a Classic Series

Posted by Scott Comfort on Aug 15 2020 at 04:04PM PDT in Ball 2020

Rhein Rockets Win the League in dramatic fashion!

Playoff MVP Evan Neibrandt and Terry Peppler. (Pictured accepting award from League Website Sponsor Scott Comfort RE/MAX Blue Chip Realty).

Game two was a back and forth game. After 2 scoreless innings Dave Renkas broke it open with a Solo HomeRun in the bottom of 3. The teams each got one in 4 with Veteran Terry Peppler pitching himself out of a bases loaded 1 out situation with two backwards K’s. The jr Royals then took the lead in top of 6 with 4 runs putting them to 5-2. Rhein answers back with 1 in 6. And after Terry Peppler shut down the Royals in the top of 7. In the bottom of 7 the Royals gave up one then with Rhett Reeve and 2 out in second Brett Peppler launched a Walk off Home run to win game 2.

With the Series tied at two the Modified best of 3 would be decided in a sudden death extra inning style game.

With a runner on second to start the inning the JR Royals the managed to load the bases. Clean up Hitter Carter McLean hit a long fly ball to second and Logan Schultz scored on the Sac Fly.

In the bottom of the inning With Adam Neibrandt on Second Evan Neibrandt hit a line drive triple in the gap to tie the game. Jr Royals gave Reeve and Peppler their bases to create a force play at home. However with Aaron Rathgerber up a wild pitch reached the screen allowing Evan Neibrandt to score from 3rd and claim the Richardson Pioneer Men’s Fastball League Championship.

Rhein joined the league in 2018. They lost in the Finals in 2018, Semi Finals in 2019 before reaching the Pinnacle of the league this year into he back of Veteran Terry Peppler that pitched most of the Playoff Games Including every inning of the final.

The Pitching matchup in the final showed the diversity of age in the League with Peppler being 43 years senior to Royals Pitcher Koby Faubert.

Jr Royals had a great season and have proven to be a strong team despite being all teenagers. The team has been in the league since it’s inception only clamming 2 wins in the first 3 years. They continued to work hard and develop to the point where they had a 5-6 record in 2019 and knocked off the 2018 Champs is the playoffs. This year the boys had a winning record and were 1 out away from the League Championship. The Jr Royals have nothing to hang their head about and will be a force in the league in 2021.

Past winners of the league:
Wynyard Blues 2018 and 2016
Stoney Creek Braves 2017
Rosebud Royals 2019

Past MVPs:
Mike Jordan
Dusty Keshane
James Holowaty


There are no comments for this announcement.